2017 Georgia International Topology Conference

All talks will be in Physics Room 202, and registration and refreshments will be in the lobby in front of room 202.

(For a larger version go to the Schedule and Abstracts page.

The 2017 Georgia International Topology Conference

will take place May 22 - June 2, 2017

at the University of Georgia in Athens, Georgia.

The Georgia International Topology Conference is a long-standing, octennial tradition.  Its proceedings have often set the agenda for research in geometry and topology.  The 2017 Conference will include dozens of speakers whose ideas have advanced the field over the last eight years.  Over two weeks, the Conference will provide plenty of time for collaboration and for interaction between junior and senior researchers.  

Please note that there will be a $50 registration fee, payable by check or cash, to support costs of refreshments, etc. We will provide receipts for this payment.

Here is some info about the lecture room for speakers.

We ask all participants to register at the link above, where you can also apply for funding. Graduate students and other early career mathematicians, especially those from backgrounds traditionally underrepresented in mathematics, are encouraged to apply for funding. The conference is supported by a generous grant from the National Science Foundation (DMS-1719320) which will allow us to fund the participation of many graduate students and recent Ph. D.’s. The deadline for initial consideration for funding has passed but we may still consider requests for funding. Check out the dropdown menus above for more information, about the conference and about Athens.

Note that we will not make any particular effort to schedule the speakers according to mathematical themes, and that we encourage all speakers to aim their talks at a broad group of topologists.

Confirmed Speakers (* means this speaker is giving an expository evening talk aimed specifically at graduate students):

  • Ian Agol
  • Juliette Bavard
  • Mladen Bestvina
  • Roger Casals
  • Tom Church
  • Fernando Coda Marques
  • Yasha Eliashberg
  • Mikhail Ershov
  • John Etnyre*
  • Steven Frankel
  • Stefan Friedl
  • Dave Gabai
  • Sheel Ganatra
  • David Gay
  • Eugene Gorsky
  • Eli Grigsby
  • Kristen Hendricks
  • Ko Honda
  • Helmut Hofer
  • Jennifer Hom
  • Michael Hutchings
  • Jeremy Kahn
  • Peter Kronheimer
  • Tao Li
  • Robert Lipshitz*
  • Kathryn Mann
  • Dan Margalit*
  • Rob Meyerhoff*
  • Tom Mrowka
  • Emmy Murphy
  • John Pardon
  • Andy Putman
  • Jacob Rasmussen
  • Alan Reid
  • Rachel Roberts
  • Paul Seidel
  • Zoltan Szabo
  • Karen Vogtmann
  • Andy Wand
  • Mehdi Yazdi

Scientific Advisory Committee: Ian Agol, Yakov Eliashberg, David Gabai, Dusa McDuff, Tomasz Mrowka, Peter Ozsvath, Peter Teichner, Karen Vogtmann

Local Organizers: David Gay, Jean Gutt, Will Kazez, Gordana Matic, Juanita Pinzon, Adam Saltz, Mike Usher, Weiwei Wu


Local Information Previous Conferences Registration and Support Schedule and Abstracts