Research Group Summer 2015

Fall Semester 2015 lab photo_0.jpg

Left to right: (front)  Xiangji Liu, Jon Maner, Tim Ward, Melissa Woodward, David McDonald, Itzak Dotan, Dr. Michael A. Duncan; (back) Dan Mauney, Joshua Marks, Daniel Leicht, Scott Akin

Current Members:

Michael A. Duncan               

maduncan@uga.edu

Office: 706-542-1998                                                                      

Cell: 706-340-4241

 

Natalie Dzadek

natalie.jpg

Home Town: Panama City Beach, FL

Undergrad Institute: University of West Florida

natalie.dzadek@uga.edu

850-896-4468

 

Xiangji Liu    

large_Xiangji.jpg

Home Town: Chongqing, China

Undergrad Institute: Wuhan University 

Main Project: Synthesis of ligand-coated cluster materials                          

xjliu@uga.edu

706-714-4370                                  

                           

Jonathan Maner   

large_Jon_0.jpg 

Home Town: Grayson, GA

Undergrad Institute: Davidson College B.S, UNC Charlotte M.S.      

Main Project: Photofragment imaging         

jomaner@uga.edu

770-833-5635                                  

 

Joshua Marks 

large_Josh.jpg

Home Town: Farmington, CT

Undergrad Institute: University Of Hartford     

Main Project: Infrared spectroscopy of protonated molecules and clusters                             

joshuaherbertmarks@gmail.com

860-331-6014   

 

Daniel Mauney   

large_Dan.jpg    

Home Town: Concord, NC

Undergrad Institue: Elon Univeristy B.S., UNC Greensboro M.S.      

Main Project: Infrared spectroscopy of protonated molecules and clusters        

dtmauney@uga.edu

704-796-2263                                  

 

David McDonald     

large_David.jpg

Home Town: Sterling, VA

Undergrad Institue: Virginia Tech          

Main Project: Infrared spectroscopy of protonated molecules and clusters

dcmcd987@uga.edu

703-216-2915                                  

 

Tim Ward       

large_Tim.jpg

Home Town: Longview , TX

Undergrad Institue: Trinity University   

Main Project: Infrared spectroscopy of metal-ligand complexes                     

tward90@uga.edu

903-215-1120                                  

 

Melissa Woodard

large_IMG_0828_1.JPG

Home Town: Asheville, NC

Undergrad Institute: Appalachian State University

Main Project: Synthesis of ligand-coated cluster materials

mwoodard@uga.edu

828-275-6535

 

Dr. Philipp Wagner, Postdoc

 

Home Town: Giessen, Germany

Undergrad Institute: Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany

Main Project:  Infrared spectroscopy of protonated molecular clusters.

jan.wagner@uga.edu

706-247-4993            

                        

Former Members of the Duncan Research Group

Jurgen Agreiter, Postdoc, 1998-1999
Manager Analytics
Subsidiary of RWE and E.ON
Juelich, Germany
jagreiter@gmx.de

Draemannsmuehle 17
D-52353 Dueren
Germany

LaTasha Amisial, 1999-2000
Department of Chemistry
Georgetown University, NW
Washington, DC 20036
lda4@georgetown.edu

Chantelle Anfuso-Cleary, Undergraduate research, 2005-2006
Graduate Student
Department of Chemistry
Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia
chantelleanfuso@yahoo.com

Shaun Ard, Postdoc, 2009-2011
NRC Postdoctoral Felow, w/ Al Viggiano
Air Force Research Labs
Kirtland AFB
Albuquerque, NM 87117
505-853-3254
Shaun.Ard.ctr@kirtland.af.mil

Timothy Ayers, Ph. D., 2006
Assistant Professor
Chemistry Department
1600 Maple St.
University of West Georgia
Carrollton, GA 30118
Phone: 770-839-6022
Fax: 678-839-6551
tayers@westga.edu
159 Wrenwood Ln
Carrollton, GA 30117-2273
770-328-5905

Biswajit Bandyopadhyay, Ph. D. 2012
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Chemical Science Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
1 Cyclotron Road
Berkeley, CA 94720
biswajitb@lbl.gov
2030 Delaware St.
Apt. B
Berkeley, CA 94709
706-380-4249

Ken Berry, 1991-1996
High School Teacher
Lumpkin County High School
Dahlonega, GA
Ken and Gina (Adam)
4705 Tomacheche Trail
Gainesville, GA 30506
Phone: 770-536-6766
kberry@cadet.com

Jessie Bishop, Undergrad Research, 1998-99.
Organic Chemist-Discovery Chemistry Research
Eli Lilly & Co.
Indianapolis, IN
317-277-2035
Jessie@Lilly.com
1235 N. Delaware St.
Indianapolis, IN 46202-2543
317-244-3674

Muriel Bishop, Visiting Professor, Clemson University
Muriel and Barnes Bishop
P.O. Box 1366
Clemson, SC 29633-1366

Lori Brock, Ph.D. 1996
Research Director
Discharge Lighting Division
Osram Sylvania, Inc.
71 Cherry Hill Drive
Beverly, MA 01915
978-750-1534 (W)
lori.brock@sylvania.com
Lori and Warren
29 Ocean Drive
Ipswich, MA 01938-1421
978-283-5163 (H)
lrbrock@aol.com

John Buchanan, M.S. 1998
Chief Chemist
Materials Bureau
Department of Transportation
State of Montana
2701 Prospect Avenue
Helena, MT 59620
John B., Tammy Jenkins, Katherine and James
3300 Morning Star Drive
Helena, MT 59602
276-393-4603

Prosser Carnegie, Ph.D. 2008
Manager, Retread Americas and Bias Technology Worldwide
Continental Tire the Americas, LLC.
1830 Macmillan Par Dr.
Fort Mill, SC 29707
2215 Chesterfield Ave.
Charlotte, NC 28205
Prosser.Carnegie@conti.de
prosser.carnegie@gmail.com

Angela Carroll Scott, M.S. 2006
Law Degree, Kent Kent School of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology, 2006
Patent Examiner
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Directory of Former Group Members
file:///C|/Users/Journal/Documents/Alex%20O/Directory.htm[9/4/2014 1:22:09 PM]
Alexandria, VA
Angela, Dax, Addison and Madelyn
6100 Gardenia Court
Alexandria, VA 22310
571-481-4739
angela@daxscottfamily.com
Cell: 630-528-0888

Po-Yuan (James) Cheng, Ph.D. 1990
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
National Tsing Hua University
Hsing-Chu, Taiwan, R.O.C.
pycheng@mx.nthu.edu.tw

Timothy C. Cheng, Ph.D. 2012
Field Service Engineer
Spectra Physics Lasers
Division of Newport Corp.
8602 Aspen Grove Ct
Odenton, Md 21113
timccheng@gmail.com
706-424-9165

Shannon Cornett, Ph.D. 1993 (joint with Prof. Jon Amster)
Research Instructor
Mass Spectrometry Research Center
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
465 21st Ave S
Room 9152A
Medical Research Building III
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37232
Tel: 615-343-8436
Fax: 615-343-8372
E-mail: shannon.cornett@vanderbilt.edu

Collin Dibble, Ph. D. 2013
Postdoc
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
P. O. Box 999 MSIN: K8-88
Richland, WA 99352
Collin, Lisa, Nolan and Elsie
5004 Matia Lane
Pasco, WA 99301

Gary Douberly, Postdoc 2006-2008
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-3857
douberly@uga.edu
Gary and Jen
1561 Robinhood Rd.
Watkinsville, GA 30677
919-360-2083

Nancie Flynn Deckard, M.S. 1998
600 Elin Ct
Hillsborough, NC 27278
919-452-7978

Nichole R. (McKee) Foster, M.S. 2001
c/o Kai Exner
Altkoenigstrasse 44
61440 Oberursel
Germany
nykifoster@yahoo.com

Michele (France) Duderstadt, M.S. 1998
Michele and Randy Duderstadt
9336 Brandywine Lane
Cinncinati, OH 45241
m_r_france@yahoo.com
513-777-5682

Jim Fye, Postdoc, 1998-99
NRC-NRL Postdoctoral Fellow
Chemistry Division Code 6113
Naval Research Laboratory
Washington, DC 20375
202-404-3360
FAX: 202-404-8119
jimfye@ccf.nrl.navy.mil
Jim and Rene
703-313-4574
guadagnr@erols.net

Anne Granville, visiting high school teacher, summer 2008
anne_granville@gwinnett.k12.ga.us.

Gilles Gregoire, Postdoc, 2000-2001
Staff Scientist of the CNRS
Laboratoire de Physique des Lasers
Institute Galilee, Universite Paris-Nord
F-93430 Villetaneuse
France
33-1-49 40 37 23
gilles.gregoire@univ-paris13.fr
Gilles and Claire (Romaine, Juliette)
84 Rue Vergniaud
75013 Paris
France

Greg Grieves, Ph.D., 2003
Staff Scientist
School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Molecular Science and Engineering Building (MS&E)
901 Atlantic Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30332-0400
404-385-2243 (Office); 404-894-4042 (Lab)
gregory.grieves@chemistry.gatech.edu
Home:
210 Sampson St. Unit 9
Atlanta, GA 30312
404-929-0276 (home)
404-314-8143 (cell)

Ben Ham, B.S./M.S., 2007
Directory of Former Group Members
file:///C|/Users/Journal/Documents/Alex%20O/Directory.htm[9/4/2014 1:22:09 PM]
medical student
Medical College of Georgia
Ben and Hope (Jediah)
4109 Trenton Way
Martinez, GA 30907-2679
pbenhamiii@gmail.com

Jared Jaeger, Ph.D., 2006
Genomic Esoteric Testing Specialist
Quest Diagnostics
Springfield, MO
jared.b.jaeger@questdiagnostics.com
Jared, Erin and Jase
4310 S. Mentor Ave.
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: 417-863-9027
Cell: 706-461-1795
Email: jaredjaeger@gmail.com

Todd Jaeger, Ph.D., 2004
Advanced Development Sales Manager
SCHOTT North America, Inc.
Corporate Office
555 Taxter Road
Elmsford, NY 10523
USA
914-831-2200
todd.jaeger@us.schott.com
42 Roy Smith Rd.
Central City, CO 80427-0339
303-834-2281

Areatha Knight Ketch, Ph.D. 2000
Postdoc, 2010-2012Areatha, Bob, Ellawyn, George and Samuel
529 Hills Crossing Road
Clarkesville, GA 30523
706-754-8208
areatha05@windstream.net

Kenneth LaiHing, Ph.D. 1988
Professor and Chairman
Department of Chemistry
Oakwood College
Huntsville, AL 35896
205-726-7112
laihing@oakwood.edu
Ken, Jean and Stephen
248 Latigo Loop
Huntsville, AL 35806
205-852-6984 (H)

Quan Li, Postdoc, 1999-2000
Postdoc
Laboratory of Chemical Physics
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
quanli@sunder.niddk.nih.gov
14005 Cove Lane, Apt. 203
Rockville, MD 20851
quanli01@hotmail.com

Katie Mayo, undergrad research, 2008

Ben Mishra, undergrad research 2006-2007

Karen (Sinclair) Molek, Ph.D., 2007
Assistant Professor
Chemistry Department
University of West Florida
11000 University Parkway
Pensacola, FL 32514
Phone: (850) 474-2799
Fax: (850) 474-2621
Cell number: 850.240.4934
kmolek@gmail.com
Karen and Chris
10033 Via Grande
Navarre, FL 32566

Matt Nee, Undergrad Research, 1998-2000
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
1906 College Heights Blvd.
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, KY 42101
270-745-0114
matthew.nee@wku.edu

Ken Pearce, Undergrad Research, 1988-89
MS, Ohio State University, 1995
CEO
THB Inc.
Greensboro, NC
bulldawg1964@gmail.com
209-14 Lindley Rd.
Greenboro, NC 27409
336-549-9685

Michael Peschke, M.S. 1990
Postdoc with Paul Kebarle
Department of Chemistry
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
Canada T6G 2G2
780-492-8227
Michael.Peschke@ualberta.ca
305-8210 111 St.
Directory of Former Group Members
file:///C|/Users/Journal/Documents/Alex%20O/Directory.htm[9/4/2014 1:22:09 PM]
Edmonton, Alberta
Canada T6G 2C7
780-432-6025

E. Dinesh Pillai, Ph.D. 2007
Applications Scientist
IDEX Optics and Photonics
994 Bendeemer Rd. #06-05
Kallang Basin Industrial Estate
Singapore 339943
dpillai@idexcorp.com
Tel: +65 6392 5368
Fax: +65 6392 5508
Dinesh and Soo Chin (Joshua)
315B Anchorvale Road
#03-164
Singapore 542315
Cell: +65 9656 4271
dinesh102@hotmail.com

Jeffrey Pilgrim, Ph.D. 1995
President
Vista Photonics, Inc.
Sante Fe, NM 87508
jpilgrim@vistaphotonics.com
Jeff, Melissa and Taylor
67 Condessa Rd.
Sante Fe, NM 87508
505-466-3953

Steve Pullins, Ph.D. 1998
Physicist
Advanced Optical Systems, Inc.
6767 Old Madison Pike, Suite 410
Huntsville, Alabama 35806
pullins@aos-inc.com
Steve and Jessica
131 White Oak Loop
Cullman, AL 35057
pullinss@bellsouth.net
Home: 256-737-8202
Cell: 256-590-2171

John Reddic, Ph.D. 1999
Director of Chemistry
S.C. Bureau of Laboratories
Department of Health and Environmental Control
8231 Parklane Rd.
Columbia, SC 29223
Phone: 803-896-9725
reddicje@dhec.sc.gov
John and Molly
4657 Crystal Drive
Columbia, SC 29206
Phone: 803-782-9228
Cell: 803-413-2460

Zach Reed, Ph.D. 2009
NRC Postdoctoral Fellow
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Gaithersburg MD 20886
Zach and Sarah
10518 Apple Ridge Rd.
Gaithersburg MD 20886
Phone: 540-272-9927
zachdreed@gmail.com

Allen Ricks, Ph.D. 2010
Applications Scientist
Ultrafast Systems LLC
1748 Independence Blvd. Suite G-6
Sarasota, FL 34234
USA
941-360-2161

David L. Robbins, Ph.D. 1995
Staff Scientist
Detonation Science and Technology, DX-1
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Mail Stop P952
Los Alamos, NM 87544
505-665-5431 (office)
505-667-9260 (lab)
505-667-6388 (lab)
fax: 505-667-6372
robbins@lanl.gov
David and Tammy (Kristen, Brittany and Nathan)
114 El Viento St.
Los Alamos, NM 87544-2418
505-662-7544

Jason Robinson, Undergrad Research 1995-97
MBA student
Kellogg School of Business
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL
Jason and Jieming
1630 Chicago Ave., Apt 602
Evanston, IL 60201

Chris T. Scurlock, Postdoc, 1995-96
Staff Scientist
Battelle Eastern Science & Technology Center
Phone: 410-306-8887
Cell: 410-688-1813
scurlock@battelle.org
Chris and Andrea (Jonah, Ethan)
4303 Foxglove Ct.
Belcamp, MD 21017-1658
410-273-1740

Kevin Sequoia, Undergrad research, 2000
Graduate Student
Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego
Kevin and Jacqueline
17466 Matinal Rd. #5222
San Diego, CA 40404

Jaydee Shoemake, undergrad research 2003

Andreas Stangassinger, Postdoc, 1996-97
Staff Physicist
Laser2000
andreas.stangassinger@laser2000.de
Andreas S. ("Stan") and Rosi Rieger and Sebastion
Baderstrasse 11a
D-82211 Herrsching
Germany
stangassinger@t-online.de

Emily Tarsis, Undergrad research, 2004
Graduate student (w/ Prof. Don M. Coltart)
Department of Chemistry
Duke University
emily.tarsis@duke.edu

Tracy Taylor, M.S. 1989
Quality Assurance Manager
Roche-Carolina Pharmaceuticals
6173 East Old Marion Highway
Bldg. 801, Office 111
Florence, SC 29506-9330
tracy.taylor@roche.com
Phone: 843-629-4346
Fax: 843-629-4949
Tracy and Becky (Spenser, Mitchell)
4020 Westbrook Drive
Florence, SC 29501

Brian Ticknor, Ph.D. 2008
Nuclear Analytical Chemistry and Isotopic Laboratories
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
1 Bethel Valley Rd., MS 6415
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
865-576-2446
ticknorbw@ornl.gov
Brian and Peyton Ticknor
11733 Autumn Glade Lane
Knoxville, TN 37934

Jeffrey L. Tucker, Undergrad research 1995
164 Etowah Dr.
Cartersville, GA 30120
jtucker@randomc.com

Deniz van Heijnsbergen, visiting grad student, 2001-2002; Ph.D. 2003
Staff Scientist
ASML
De Run 6501
5504 DR, Veldhoven
The Netherlands
Email: denizvh@gmail.com
Cell: +31650287746
Deniz and Anna-Marie Smits (Sienna)
Prof. Wentlaan 16
3571 GC Utrecht
The Netherlands

Joe Velasquez, III, Ph.D. 2008
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Angelo State University
San Angelo, TX 76909
Phone: 325-942-2181, ext. 227
Fax: 325-942-2184
j.velasquez@angelo.edu
Joe and Lisa
P.O. Box 234
Carlsbad, TX 76934

Don Wagner, Undergrad Research 1994
Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, 2000, Rich Saykally group
Department of Chemistry
University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
wagner@uclink4.berkeley.edu

Nicholas R. Walker, Postdoc, 2002-2003
Lecturer in Physical Chemistry,
School of Chemistry,
Bedson Building,
Newcastle University,
Newcastle-upon-Tyne,
NE1 7RU
United Kingdom
Phone: (0191) 222 7028
Nick.Walker@newcastle.ac.uk

Richard S. Walters, Ph.D. 2005
Staff Scientist
General Electric
Wilmington, NC
Phone: 910-819-3523
Email: richard.walters@ge.com
Richard Walters and Elizabeth (Richard and Michael)
217 White Oak Drive
Wilmington, NC 28409
Phone: 910-399-5180
Cell: 706-202-3046

Brittany Westlake, Undergrad research 2003-2004
Ph. D. UNC-Chapel Hill, 2010 (with Prof. John Papanikolas)
ACS Public Policy Fellow
Washington, DC
Robert Wheeler, Ph.D. 1987
(deceased, 2008)
Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Transkei
Private Bag X5092
Umtata
Republic of Transkei
Southern Africa

Ken Willey, Ph.D. 1993
Business Analytical Specialist
Dow Coating Materials
The Dow Chemical Company
727 Norristown Road, P.O. Box 904
Spring House, PA 19477
215-641-7095
Email: KWilley@rohmhaas.com
Ken, Deb, Conner and Brian
4775 Quail Circle
Schwenksville, PA 19473
610-287-5527
kfwfly@verizon.net

Chen-Sheng Yeh, Ph.D. 1993
Professor
Department of Chemistry
National Cheng Kung University
Tainan, Taiwan, R.O.C.
csyeh@mail.ncku.edu.tw