Past News


David Schaeffer received the Society for Psychological Research Poster Award during this year’s meeting in Atlanta. CCNL students presented 4 posters at the SPR meeting, 1 talk and 1 poster at the Society for Neuroscience meeting in D.C., and 1 poster at the Organization for Human Brain Mapping meeting in Hamburg, Germany.


Dr. Cindy Krafft and colleagues’ manuscript figure was selected for the cover of Developmental Neuroscience. CCNL presented 2 posters and 2 talks at the first annual UGA-BIRC SEC mini-conference, 3 posters at Cognitive Neuroscience Society, 1 poster at the Society of Biological Psychiatry, and 3 talks and 1 poster at the undergraduate CURO symposium.


CCNL presented 4 posters at the Society for Neuroscience and 2 posters at the Society for Psychophysiological Research.


CCNL presented 3 posters and 2 talks at the International Congress for Schizophrenia Research.


CCNL presented 6 posters at the Society for Neuroscience and 3 Posters at the Society for Psychophysiological Research.


Brett Clementz, Jennifer McDowell , and colleagues were recently awarded a grant from the NIH to study the role of increased baseline neural noise in cognitive control in healthy low-cognitive-span individuals and schizophrenia patients.

Past Honors and Awards

»Matt Hudgens-Haney was admitted to the Blue Key Honor Society (Fall 2014)

»Amanda Rodrigue and Anastasia Bobilev were selected for the Paul D. Coverdell Neuroimaging Program Franklin Foundation Fellowship (August 2014)

»Courtney Burton received the Scholars of Excellence Fellowship (2014-15) and the Early Graduate Recruiting Fellowship (2014)

»Dr. McDowell was promoted to full, tenured professor (Spring 2014)

»Dr. Clementz was awarded the Psychology Department’s Graduate Teaching Award (Spring 2014)

»Undergraduate Joseph Coppiano was awarded the Scott Torgeson Outstanding Junior in Psychology Award with a $500 cash prize (Spring 2014)

»Amanda Rodrigue and Jordan Pierce were awarded the Richard L. Marsh Mentoring Award for Graduate Students in the Psychology Dept. (Spring 2014)

»Undergraduate student, David Parker was named a CURO Summer Fellow (funded to work in our laboratory full time over the summer, and provided with additional research training).

» Dr. McDowell was awarded an UGA Graduate School Outstanding Mentor Award in the Social and Behavioral Sciences.

» CCNL has 2 students recognized by prestigious NSF Graduate Fellowship: Cindy Krafft (2010-2013) and David Schaeffer (2011-2014).

» Cindy Krafft – 2 week UCLA Neruoimaging Training Program Advanced Summer Course – all expenses paid (7/2012).

» Amanda Rodrigue – Cold Springs Harbor Laboratory (New York) Workshop on Schizophrenia and Related Disorders – partial award ($750; 6/2012).

» Graduate students Lingxi Xi, Jordan Hamm, and Justin Knight were selected as Paul D. Coverdell Neuroimaging Program Franklin Foundation Scholars (2009-2013).

» Jordan Pierce (6 – 7/2012), and Mathew Hudgens-Haney, David Schaeffer, and Lauren Hayrynen (6-7/2011) – 6 week Multimodal Neuroimaging Summer Workshop at University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University – all expenses paid.

» Graduate student Lauren Ethridge was accepted to Fifth Annual NIH National Graduate Student Research Festival.

» Dr. Brett Clementz qualified for the 114th Boston marathon!

» From Oct. 08 to Aug. 09, graduate student Benjamin Austin has won a series of rewards, in cluding ARCS Foundation Scholar (08/09), The Doctoral Dissertation Completion Award, The University of Georgia (05/09),Travel Grant Recipient, The Franklin Foundation Neuroimaging Program (05/09), The Graduate School Dean’s Award, The University of Georgia (02/09), The Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, The University of Georgia (02/09), Travel Grant Recipient, The University of Georgia Graduate School (02/09) and Conference for Southern Graduate Schools 2009 Master’s Thesis Award (10/08), Congratulations, Ben!

» Graduate student Cynthia Krafft received an Honorable Mention for a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship in 2009.

» Graduate student Jordan Hamm recently completed a 6-week paid summer training workshop on Diffusion Tensor Imaging at Carnegie Melon University and the University of Pittsburgh.

» CCNL graduate student Lisa Krusemark was awarded the Martha Jo Walker Johnson Memorial Award from the Social Psychology Program (2008) For Distinguished Research Pursuits in Social Psychology

» Friederike Meyer from the University of Konstanz (Konstanz, Germany) recently completed a semester-long internship in our laboratory. We wish Friderike all the best as she continues her education back in Germany.

» CCNL graduate student Michael Amlung was awarded an Honorable Mention for a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

» CCNL graduate student Nathanial Thom is the 2008 recipient of the Louise E. Kindig Research Award from the Department of Kinesiology for his doctoral dissertation proposal and the Clifford Gray Lewis Financial Assistance Award.

» Spring 2008 was full of exciting news and awards for CCNL undergraduate students: William Oliver received the Judge Horace B Russell Prize for best written work in psychology. William Oliver, Julia Schuchard, and Mani Valtcheva presented posters at the 2008 CURO Symposium. Mani Valtcheva was accepted to the 2008 International CURO Symposium in Costa Rica and Julia Schuchard was selected as an alternate. Madison Moore and Mani Valtcheva received CURO summer fellowships to conduct research in the lab during Summer 2008.

» CCNL graduate students, Lauren Ethridge and Nathaniel Thom have been selected as Paul D. Coverdell Neuroimaging Program Franklin Foundation Scholars.

» CCNL graduate student, Benjamin Austin was accepted to the University of Michigan fMRI workshop (funded by the National Institutes of Health) and attended the 2-week course this past August.

» Benjamin Austin’s abstract, “Exercise effects on the neural substrates of antisaccade performance in overweight children; an fMRI study,” was in the 5% of submissions selected by the Public Education and Communication Committee for the 2006 Society for Neuroscience Annual Meeting (San Diego, CA) Press Book submission.

» CCNL graduate student alumni, Jazmin Camchong & Casey Gilmore shared the Herbert Zimmer Scholar for Outstanding Research, University of Georgia (2007).