Directors

small_reitsema.jpgDr. Laurie Reitsema   reitsema@uga.edu

Dr. Reitsema is a bioarchaeologist who studies the interaction between biology, diet, and culture using stable isotope analysis of archaeological human remains. 

 

 

small_tanner260.jpgDr. Susan Tanner   stanner1@uga.edu

Dr. Tanner is a biological anthropologist who uses a biocultural approach to undertand how human heath and disease are shaped by the environment and culture. 

 

 

medium_Salmi pic.JPGDr. Roberta Salmi   rsalmi@uga.edu 

Dr. Salmi is a primatologist who studies primate behavior, ecology, and conservation. 

 

 

Students

small_Alarcon. 2017. Fieldwork_0.jpg

Edgar Alarcon   alarcon.tinajero@uga.edu

Edgar studies the diets, physical activity and subsistence practices of individuals from Neolithic Mesoamerica.

Adviser: Dr. Laurie Reitsema

 

small_Carey_photo copy.jpegCarey Garland   carey.garland@uga.edu

Carey studies the effects of Spanish contact on early childhood stress and diet among individuals interred at multiple sites from St. Catherine's Island, Georgia. 

Adviser: Dr. Laurie Reitsema

 

small_holder_s_web.jpgSammantha Holder   sammholder@uga.edu

Samm studies embodiment and structural violence through the analysis of the remains of Napoleonic soldiers and civilians. 

Adviser: Dr. Laurie Reitsema

 

small_Lee pic.JPGChristina Lee   christina.lee26@uga.edu

Christina studies physical activity in childhood in lowland and highland Bolivia. 

Adviser: Dr. Susan Tanner

 

k_morrow_web_0.jpg

Kristen Morrow   ksmorrow@uga.edu   

Kristen studies human-other primate interactions in Indonesia, focusing in particular on the trade-offs of coexisting in shared landscapes. 

Adviser: Dr. Roberta Salmi

 

small_DSC_0009.jpgKatherine Reinberger   klreinberger@uga.edu

Katie studies how warfare connects spatially and geographically diverse populations through the analysis of remains from the Greek colony of Himera. 

Adviser: Dr. Laurie Reitsema

 

small_april_smith_web.jpgApril Kristen Smith   akdobbs@uga.edu

April studies the relationship between early childhood stress and infectious disease mortality among 19th century cholera victims from Italy. 

Adviser: Dr. Laurie Reitsema

 

Alumni

small_Jessie Pic_0.jpgJessie Dyer   jessie.dyer25@uga.edu

 

 

 

small_franchesca_judd.jpgFranchesca Judd   fdjudd@uga.edu

 

 

 

small_IMG_2481_0_0.JPGMadalena Monteban

 

 

 

Asher.jpgAsher Rosinger